Cake Utopia

All Occasion and Custom Cakes in Kalamazoo Michigan by Nicole Kalmbach

Christmas 2010 December 27, 2010

Filed under: What's new? — Cake Utopia @ 9:28 pm

This was a fabulous Christmas, in so many ways.  Steve, Spice (the dog) and I had a great time seeing family and friends over the last few days in Frankenmuth and Byron.  We arrived home early this afternoon, and I can’t wait to start baking, as Cake Utopia and myself found ourselves the recipients of some very generous gifts!  Steve gave me THE biggest mixer that Kitchenaid makes for Christmas and I am really itching to use it!

This baby has 14 cups of flour power, which, according to the label, means that it can handle 8.25 loaves of bread, 13 dozen cookies, and 8 pounds of mashed potatoes.  It really is gigantic.  ANYONE:  please order a big cake so I can give it a true test!!! 🙂

Prior to this bad boy, I owned a 5 quart Kitchenaid Artisan stand mixer.  Just so that you can see the difference, I did a little comparison of the mixer attachments:

The new attachments are in the back.  I am excited to see the difference!

In support of my ambitions as well as Cake Utopia, my mother-in-law had these blocks custom-made.  She also gave me a fabulous cupcake stand that I’m sure will come in very handy.

Prior to the holiday, I also spent quite a bit of time baking (round #2 of cookie day!) and making candy.  The cookies and candy that we ate for dessert for Christmas dinner were all baked by me.  Click on the link below to see more pictures and details about our dessert feast!

I sincerely hope that all of you had a great Christmas and I wish you a Happy New Year.  I will be making a birthday cake, as well as some sort of sweet confection (that I have not yet quite figured out) for New Year’s Eve.  Posts will be forthcoming!

 

 

Leave a comment