Cake Utopia

All Occasion and Custom Cakes in Kalamazoo Michigan by Nicole Kalmbach

Finding Nemo Cake and Cupcakes March 14, 2011

Filed under: What's new? — Cake Utopia @ 8:18 pm

Last weekend, Cake Utopia was all about Finding Nemo.  I was pretty well satisfied with the way in which I found him, too.  Of course, there are always things I will do differently next time.  I’m beginning to realize that each new order presents new challenges.  This must be why people can stay in this profession their entire lives and still love it!!  If you click on the picture above, you can see just how Nemo came to life.  This order also included cupcakes which can also be seen if you click above.

For my commentary, here are a few fun facts about Nemo:

  • The request came as a “side view” of Nemo in cake with cupcakes on the side.
  • I started with 2 14″ round cakes.  I made each layer about 1/2 of the size that I would normally make.  I filled, stacked, and crumb coated the rounds with vanilla bean buttercream.
  • I used a cartoon cutout to get the basic Nemo shape, then I carved additional detail and added depth with frosting.
  • Nemo had a 1/4″ think layer of frosting before he was covered in fondant.
  • This is the first totally fondant covered cake that I have done.
  • You may or may not notice that Nemo has no  teeth.  I attempted to add teeth several times, but I just couldn’t get it to work.  My next Nemo will have teeth!
  • The black lines separating the orange from the white are rolled fondant “snakes” that I smashed down to lie flat.
  • The black detail around the fins is painted with black food coloring.  I also added subtle detail to the orange before the fondant dried.
  • When I was done with the fondant work, but before I added the blue dot border, I used my clothing steamer to make Nemo shiny.  Here are a few things that I learned just from this:
  1. Essentially, the hot steam is melting the sugar crystals on the fondant, creating the gloss that you see.
  2. If you use too much steam, the fondant will melt too much and the fondant colors will run.  This is not a problem if your fondant is all one color.  But, if you have white fondant (for say, teeth) next to orange fondant, the orange will run onto the white.  Then you will end up with orange teeth… or no teeth at all of you opt to correct the situation by blacking out both the orange and the white!
  3. I actually steamed the cake the night before and then put it in the fridge over night.  I noticed that when I put it in the fridge, some of the fondant crystalized.  I steamed the cake for a 2nd time right before the cake was picked up.  In the future, I would let the cake come to room temperature and then steam it.  I wouldn’t steam and then put it in the fridge again.  Time is of the essence though… so careful planning must be done!
  • The cupcakes and smashcake are white with vanilla bean buttercream.  They are dressed up simply with sparkling sugar of various colors.
  • You might notice a few cupcakes with yellowish frosting.  I tried out Mango buttercream with these and added a few pink sprinkles as this cake was for a 1 year old Girls birthday!

This weekend I am having the whole family over for Steve (my husband) and Papa’s birthdays.  I have a peanut butter cup cake on the menu for that and a surprise cake for my hubby’s 33rd birthday on the 22nd. shhh, don’t tell him!

 

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.