Cake Utopia

All Occasion and Custom Cakes in Kalamazoo Michigan by Nicole Kalmbach

Cupcakes: October through December 2011 January 1, 2012

Filed under: Cupcakes,What's new? — Cake Utopia @ 8:49 pm

I’m going to apologize in advance for the multiple facebook messages and notification emails that you may receive as a result of my long overdue updates being completed in just one day.  Rather than posting in chronological order (as I usually do), I’ve decided to categorize the cakes and will hit all the updates with just seven posts! :)

In an attempt to refine my cupcake making skills, find some really great recipes, and use leftover batter to its fullest extent, I made quite a few cupcakes this fall!  If you click on the pictures below, you will be transported to more detailed pictures for each order.

The first in the collection are some really fun, very girly cupcakes.  I really love how these turned out!

After using my chocolate cake recipe for cupcakes and having the cupcakes fall in the middle countless times, I began the search for a new cupcake recipe.  I found this chocolate cupcake recipe by Ina Garten.  The cupcake recipe included a recipe for peanut butter frosting, as well, so I whipped up both together.  The cupcakes are great and the peanut butter frosting is the silkiest, smoothest frosting that I have ever had with powder sugar in it.  The whole thing turned out to be a great find, and one that I have used many times since.

After a trip to Europe, some friends asked if I could incorporate Nutella into a batch of cupcakes.  I came up with these chocolate cupcakes with Nutella swiss merengue buttercream sprinkled with hazelnuts.  To be honest, these were not my favorite.  I need to (but haven’t had time to) work on adding the Nutella into the recipe so that the Nutella can be clearly tasted!

Below you will find pumpkin molasses cupcakes with caramel frosting and caramel cut outs.  These are pretty much a fall staple around our house.  They definitely get you in the mood for fall!

Stay tuned… more posts are on the way!

 

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.